Karnavar OpenTable Ratings and Reviews

OpenTable Karnavar Restaurant Review
OpenTable Karnavar Restaurant Review Love For
OpenTable Karnavar Restaurant Review Tags

Few of the latest reviews on OpenTable

Food5
Ambience5
Service5
Value5

Really lovely!

Dined on 1 March 2016

Really nice place, great food, definitely be going again
Tags: fit for foodies, good vegetarian options, group bookings

Food5
Ambience4
Service4
Value4

One of best in Croydon and Soth London!!

Dined on 1 March 2016

We have become ‘friends’ with this place. Went with two of our very best friends who know what they like when it comes to eating. My friend said it was the best Indian meal he had ever had! High praise indeed but so true. We had a marvellous evening and the staff were as helpful and informative as always. Try the lamb or the fish – both excellent choices
Tags: business meals, fit for foodies, good vegetarian options, group bookings, special occasions, Sunday lunch

Food4
Ambience5
Service4
Value4

Fantastic Food!

Dined on 7 February 2016

Third visit – last few birthdays and other celebration. They are very attentive and contacted us to ensure that they had allowed enough time to cater for a large group. Twice large group for Sunday brunch and once just for 2. Food is South Indian with a British twist or British with a South Indian twist. Champagne brunch pricey but all agreed worth every penny. cooking station with the owner and added bonus. Will certainly try the dinner menu – soon!
Tags: brunch, group bookings, pre/post theatre, special occasions, Sunday lunch

Food5
Ambience4
Service5
Value5

Perfect evening

Dined on 23 January 2016

After being welcomed into the restaurant, the waiter was extremely patient and helpful as we chose what to order. We were given lots of advice to choose drinks and meals and encouraged to share a starter and sides, which put us at ease and allowed us to experience the meal as intended. The curry was delightful, full of flavour and filling. The staff and owner were amazingly nice and I thoroughly recommend this restaurant to foodies and those looking to dip their toe into trying more traditional (and extremely tasty) Indian food. Cannot wait to go back!
Tags: business meals, fit for foodies, good vegetarian options, group bookings, outstanding value, pre/post theatre, romance, special occasions, Sunday lunch

Food4
Ambience3
Service2
Value4

Innovative Indian Food

VIP

Dined on 16 January 2016

A very busy Saturday night service was not helped by a couple of large parties who, as is their want, we’re running late putting the whole of the restaurants scheduling into disarray. However the charming front of house service kept us informed of the significant delays in the food orders as the kitchen was obviously under great stress. That being said the food when it arrived was of a very good quality. My masala egg starter was excellent and my wife’s scallop starter was very tasty, the only slight dissapointment was the size of the scallops which were tiny. The mains however were verging on excellent. I can see what the fuss is about as the food at Karnavar matches the hype and is as good as all the previous reviews on OT state. We would have liked to finish with a coffee but the coffee machine was broken!
Tags: business meals, fit for foodies, group bookings

Food5
Ambience4
Service4
Value4

Different dimension of Indian food.

Dined on 9 January 2016

Mr Karnavar shows what food broadly classified as Indian could be if only “Indian” restaurants and take-aways owners made an effort and dared to challenge English preconceptions. Great, innovative and brave.

Food5
Ambience4
Service5
Value5

A top Restaurant for Croydon

Dined on 3 January 2016

Having previously been for a very good dinner, we found the Sunday brunch an even better experience. Tasty starters from a buffet, then a succession of set courses brought to the table. Presentation was high class, favours and spicing delicate and cooking displaying a lot of imagination and attention to detail. Friendly service throughout. Only three tables occupied (2pm Sunday), which was a surprise. I only know of one other restaurant in Croydon that offers this level of quality (not an Asian restaurant). Will be happy to return with our most discerning friends. If it is Sunday brunch again, we will telling them to miss breakfast that morning.
Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, special occasions

Food4
Ambience4
Service4
Value4

Food was absolutely delicious! An unexpe…

VIP

Dined on 2 January 2016

Food was absolutely delicious! An unexpected gem in Croydon. Try the paneer to start…

Food5
Ambience5
Service5
Value5

Best Indian food ever

Dined on 27 December 2015

From the moment we arrived to this delightful restaurant we were seriously impressed. The atmosphere was warm and friendly and the staff were immaculately dressed, charming and attentive. We had the Sunday brunch which was beautifully prepared and presented. Everything tasted divine……..all courses certainly had the wow factor! Can’t wait to return and have told everyone just how wonderful it is.
Tags: brunch, good vegetarian options, outstanding value, romance, special occasions

Food5
Ambience5
Service4
Value5

Stunning restaurant

Dined on 8 December 2015

Amazing food prepared and served beautifully. Delicate flavours weaved into the food. All fresh ingredients. Cannot wait to go back and try other items on menu. Recommended unreservedly.
Tags: fit for foodies, good vegetarian options, special occasions

Food5
Ambience4
Service5
Value5

French Friends Impressed

Dined on 6 December 2015

We took some French friends for Sunday Lunch. They were overwhelmed with the quality and variety of the food on offer. Indeed I think they were astonished Indian food could be so different from the normal high street offerings. We , of course, had been before so knew what to expect. EXCEPT the food surpassed our own expectations!
Tags: business meals, fit for foodies, good vegetarian options, special occasions, Sunday lunch

Food5
Ambience3
Service4
Value3

Classy Karnavar!

Dined on 5 December 2015

we had the five course tasting menu without wine for 35 UKP per head. It was unusual, creative and very high standard, not your usual high street curry menu. recommended!
Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, special occasions

Food5
Ambience3
Service5
Value5

First time at Karnavar Restaurant will n…

Dined on 6 November 2015

First time at Karnavar Restaurant will not be the last.Amazing dishes make it hard to choose. Waiter explained each course ,the spices used, how it was cooked and whether any side dishes would be benificial to the main course . A class above the usual Indian Restaurants.
Tags: fit for foodies, good vegetarian options, outstanding value, special occasions

Food5
Ambience5
Service5
Value5

There were three of us on Saturday inclu…

Dined on 31 October 2015

There were three of us on Saturday including a friend from oop north. Food was great and the waitress both funny and attentive. We’ll be back soon
Tags: fit for foodies, outstanding value, special occasions

Food5
Ambience4
Service5
Value5

Sunday brunch with the family

Dined on 25 October 2015

Wanting a different experience we decided to try out karnavar on the suggestion of some friends. The Sunday brunch though pricy is definitely worth the money considering the high quality of food and service they provide. The cold starters settle you in just in time for some authentic Indian kebabs ( may I recommend the chicken one) which is followed up by a mouthwatering roast main and finally a sumptuous medley of desserts. Our waiter/manager Saran was absolutely delightful and I would recommend karnavar for anyone whose looking for something a bit unique.
Tags: brunch, good vegetarian options, outstanding value, Sunday lunch

Food5
Ambience5
Service5
Value5

Amazing service and food!

Dined on 10 October 2015

From the moment we arrived, every member of staff was very helpful without being intrusive. Very knowledgeable about each dish including where each dish is from in India. All food could be customised spiceheat wise (within reason). All in, a great meal at a great price, wish we’d come here sooner!!
Tags: business meals, fit for foodies, good vegetarian options, special occasions

Food5
Ambience3
Service5
Value4

First Class Indian Food in South Croydon

Dined on 10 October 2015

The food here is as good as the Cinnamon Club in Westminster – one of the best restaurants of its kind in London. The service was also excellent. So if you don’t want to go into London and would prefer something a little closer to home, then you’ll find that this establishment in South Croydon serves the most excellent, imaginative, Indian food going. Decor could have been easily improved with better use of targeted spots, and their pictures didn’t really seem to fit either. Otherwise, faultless.
Tags: business meals, fit for foodies, good vegetarian options, romance, special occasions

Food5
Ambience5
Service5
Value5

Really really good

Dined on 5 October 2015

Delicious. Just delicious. Great alternative to usual Indian fare. Friendly, helpful staff. Will defs go again.
Tags: business meals, child friendly, fit for foodies, good vegetarian options, group bookings, romance, special occasions, Sunday lunch

Food5
Ambience5
Service5
Value5

Set Lunch

Dined on 25 September 2015

Wonderful meal the best Indian food I have had, attentive staff without being intrusive, pretty intimate restaurant. The quality of the food was excellent, fresh ingredients, delicate flavours and excellent price for lunch. I have IBD and often feel unwell after an spicy meal, absolutely no problems, good quality ingredients.
Tags: business meals, child friendly, disabled access, fit for foodies, good vegetarian options, group bookings, outstanding value, pre/post theatre, romance, special occasions, Sunday lunch

Food5
Ambience5
Service5
Value5

Excellent Indian Restaurant

Dined on 24 September 2015

Had an excellent night. Superb food and service to match. Thank you

Food4
Ambience4
Service4
Value4

Karnavar – Croydon

Dined on 17 September 2015

Visited for lunch and had the set menu. Great value and big portions. Food was excellent, as was the service. Will definitely be revisiting soon.
Tags: business meals, fit for foodies, good vegetarian options, group bookings, special occasions

Food4
Ambience4
Service4
Value4

Thanks Karnavar

Dined on 12 September 2015

I am so glad I booked dinner with Karnavar because I couldn’t have asked for better service. The service was amazing, the food was delicious and the atmosphere was really modern. I enjoy Indian food a lot and I found my new place of choice. If you are looking for really great food service and a good meal out look no further. Thanks Staff at Karnavar my family and I enjoyed dining with you last Saturday, We’ll be back for sure. :)
Tags: business meals, good vegetarian options, group bookings, outstanding value, romance, special occasions, Sunday lunch

Food5
Ambience5
Service5
Value5

Best place for foodies

Dined on 9 September 2015

We highly recommend this restaurant for all those foodies out there who want to seek new experience in dining out in a relaxed ambience. You will definitely find excellent food and service in superior quality.The entire package is Cost Effective as well…
Tags: brunch, business meals, fit for foodies, good vegetarian options, outstanding value, romance, special occasions, Sunday lunch

Food5
Ambience5
Service5
Value2

best Indian food

Dined on 31 August 2015

Without doubt our best Indian meal . It was of the highest quality with great use of spices and very innovative. A great chef that deserves to succeed. We will revisit.
Tags: brunch, business meals, child friendly, disabled access, fit for foodies, good vegetarian options, special occasions, Sunday lunch
Food5
Ambience3
Service4
Value4

Excellent Onam Sadhya 2015

Dined on 29 August 2015

The Onam Sadhya on 29 Aug was really authentic & wonderful. Great spread and very friendly staff. A must-do for anyone in London who is keen on a Sadhya. Do keep us posted on when the next Sadhya is planned.

Food5
Ambience5
Service5
Value5

Excellent food

Dined on 27 August 2015

We went for lunch at Karanavar Restaurant, the food was delicious and excellent ambience … Excellent Indian food , the atmosphere was great , I had chosen during onam celebrations, the ambience and food over there took me home … It was such a memorable experience. For any event , I definitely will recommend my friends and colleagues to taste delicious Indian food .
Tags: afternoon tea, brunch, business meals, child friendly, disabled access, fit for foodies, good vegetarian options, group bookings, outdoor eating, outstanding value, pre/post theatre, romance, special occasions, Sunday lunch

Food5
Ambience4
Service5
Value4

Happy Eating

Dined on 21 August 2015

The food was excellent, the menu was explained by the waiter who was very attentive , and we also received a great service.
Tags: business meals, group bookings, special occasions, Sunday lunch

Food5
Ambience5
Service5
Value5

Karnavar Experience

Dined on 16 August 2015

I had a very good Sunday Brunch at Karnavar. Starting with the live station; the starters were well made and very tasty. the chef made some excellent dosas for me and my family The kebabs were fresh and of amazing quality. There was a lot of quantity in the mains. It was very tasty. All in all the meal was filling and extremely delicious. I will recommend this restaurant to all my friends.
Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, good vegetarian options, group bookings, outstanding value, special occasions

Food5
Ambience5
Service5
Value5

Excellent food and service

Dined on 9 August 2015

Excellent. The only downside is the lack of somewhere to easily change a baby’s nappy. Other than that cannot fault anything. Food, service, house champagne, prices. All brilliant.
Tags: brunch, business meals, fit for foodies, good vegetarian options, outstanding value, pre/post theatre, romance, special occasions, Sunday lunch.

Food5
Ambience5
Service5
Value4

Elegant take on Indian cuisine

Dined on 19 July 2015

I’ve been to Karnavar twice now (once for lunch and once for dinner) and been impressed both times. There’s a varied menu offering a good mix of meat, fish, and vegetarian options – and every dish I’ve tried has been delicious. Portion sizes are good, with an emphasis perhaps more on presentation. The prices are also perhaps more towards the upper end of what you might expect to pay but still within pretty good value. The restaurant itself is clean, tidy and modern with a relaxed atmosphere and friendly, attentive staff. In an area of Croydon that’s absolutely filled with restaurants, this is still a stand out. Highly recommended.
Tags: business meals, good vegetarian options, group bookings, special occasions, Sunday lunch

Food5
Ambience5
Service5
Value4

an amazing find

Dined on 15 July 2015

Karnavar is a small restaurant in the restaurant quarter in Croydon. The menu is innovative, delicious and beautifully presented. We will definitely be back. Xx
Tags: business meals, fit for foodies, good vegetarian options, special occasions

Food5
Ambience5
Service5
Value5

Great Brunch

Dined on 12 July 2015

Went for the Sunday champagne brunch which was excellent. We were a big group and the staff did everything to accommodate us in the best possible manner. The service was excellent and the food divine. There is known Indian food with a new taste. All familiar taste but with new ingredient added. There were endless food and enough champagne to last an afternoon. ALl food is prepared fresh and you can tell the difference from other Indian places. Good find in Croydon. Cannot wait to visit again.
Tags: brunch, child friendly, fit for foodies, good vegetarian options, group bookings, outstanding value, special occasions, Sunday lunch

Food5
Ambience4
Service5
Value4

A great restaurant with a beautiful sele…

Dined on 9 July 2015

A great restaurant with a beautiful selection of traditional Indian cuisine. Great service and a nice ambience. I had the duck and it was delicious!

Food5
Ambience3
Service4
Value5

Excelente food

Dined on 21 June 2015

The food is outsanding specially the pork belly as a main course
Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, pre/post theatre, romantic, special occasion, Sunday lunch

Food4
Ambience3
Service4
Value4

Delicious lunch!

Dined on 18 June 2015

Fab food, great lunch menu, for value skip dessert as it cost almost as much as the 2 course lunch!
Tags: great for brunch, good vegetarian options, special occasion

DECEMBER OPENING HOURS

Recent Posts

Video

Make Restaurant Reservations

Book Online or Contact: 020 8686 2436 or Email: croydon@karnavar.com